Classes and Tutorials

Classes

Newsletter!


classes at lighthouse

LightHouse offers a variety of engaging classes.  Each class meets twice per week, Monday/Wednesday or Tuesday/Thursday, for 90 minutes.  Students register in advance for 10-14 week blocks, and keep a digital portfolio of their work.

On Fridays we have a day of community service learning on projects envisioned and designed by the students.

Most classes are related to one or more Pathways: Entrepreneurship, Tech, Arts, or College Prep.  Learn more about Pathways HERE.

LightHouse is using a model founded in 1996.  We have hundreds of alumni who have used this approach and then moved on to competitive colleges and inspiring futures.  LightHouse has a team of college admissions counselors from most of the nearby colleges in Western Mass and beyond advising our College Prep Pathway and supporting our students who plan to move on to college to prepare compelling and competitive applications.

LightHouse students work closely with an advisor to determine their own ideal schedule.  LightHouse teens build a schedule with a combination of group classes, individual tutorials, and independent study, based on interest and Pathway focus.  Students may choose to participate in dual enrollment with either STCC or HCC, take on an internship, volunteer work, or paid work as part of their learning experience.

LightHouse offers personalized education.  We work with each student as an individual, building on strengths to create a meaningful and positive experience while also preparing for each student’s next steps. LightHouse students stand out.  They gain real-world, 21st century skills that launch them into lives driven by inspiration and vision.

Rather than focusing on what is required, LightHouse supports students to expand their vision and consider what is possible.

See our current courses

Tutorials

One-on-one tutorials are available in core academic subjects and in less common subjects when possible. Each student may prefer to study any given topic with a tutor rather than a class, or in addition to a group class.

Tutorials are entirely individualized and move at the student’s chosen pace. Tutorials are often supported by volunteers and college students, in addition to core LightHouse staff.



LightHouse will offer classes and individual tutorials, as well as support for independent study.

Questions?


classes at lighthouse

Independent Study

Each student is encouraged to pursue additional topics through independent study. Advisors are available to discuss which topics a teen is interested in pursuing and to help identify resources and create a schedule.

Independent Study is part of each LightHouse teen’s individualized and unique schedule, as well as group classes and individual tutorials. Teens may also choose to include classes external to LightHouse, perhaps at Holyoke Community College or Springfield Technical Community College, and/or internships, volunteer work, or paid work.

Learning at LightHouse is meaningful, personalized, self-paced, and enjoyable. Students track their work in a personal digital portfolio, and evaluate their own progress in with feedback from an advisor, teachers, and other connected adults.

LightHouse supports teens to create an engaging and challenging schedule, and collaboratively prepare a transcript to be shared with any future institutions.

The whole world is available as your campus. Your syllabus is your life.

Calendar

Calendar

LightHouse begins the year on Tuesday, September 3 and follows a similar schedule to other local schools through June of 2019.

Click to see our full calendar:

Tuesday, September 3, New Student Orientation

Wednesday/Thursday, September 4-5, All-Student Orientation and Shop Exploratory Days

Monday, September 9, Block 1 classes begin and continue through December 13

Monday, October 14, closed for Columbus Day

Monday, November 4, closed for Staff Development Day

Monday, November 11, closed for Veterans Day

Monday, November 25 and Tuesday, November 26 Mid-Block Workshops

Wednesday/Thursday/Friday November 27-29, closed for Thanksgiving

Monday, December 9 through Friday, December 13, Pre-Registration Week

Monday/Tuesday/ Wednesday, December 16-18, Portfolio and Final Projects Review

Thursday, December 19 through Friday, January 3, Closed for Winter Break

Monday, January 6, Block 2 begins and continues through March 27

Monday, January 20, closed for Martin Luther King Day

Monday, Feb 17 through Friday, February 21, closed for February Break

Monday, March 9, closed for Staff Development Day

Monday, March 23 through Fri, March 27 Pre-Registration Week

Thursday, March 26 and Friday, March 27, Portfolio and Final Projects Review

Monday, March 30, Block 3 begins and continues through June 5

Monday, April 20 through Friday, April 24, closed for April Break

Monday, May 25, Closed for Memorial Day

Monday, June 8 through Thursday, June 11, (LAST DAY OF SCHOOL) – Presentations Week and Portfolio Review (all students should be at LightHouse this week)

Friday, June 12, Graduation in the evening (NO SCHOOL TODAY)

Monday, June 15 through Thursday, June 19, End of year meetings with students and families (teens come in only for their family meeting, no school this week)

Questions?

“The illiterate of the 21st century
will not be those who cannot read and write,
but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.”

~Alvin Toffler